A Lust For Life

I'm seeing stars

As I stepped outside tonight to take my dog to use the bathroom, I looked up at the night sky to look at the few stars that I could see. A memory instantly popped up from the archives from my adolescent years. My friend Neil and I had taken our dates out to his grandfathers “land” after a movie. I don’t remember anything that was said that night,or what movie we saw but I do remember the stars. There were so many, more than I had seen in a long time. And then moon was huge and so bright there was no need of a flash light. And it was so quiet. I remember the feeling of that experience. Even now, I would love to go to that grassy hill at night and just sit. And be.

The world seemed full of possibility at that age. The four of us who were present that night eventually went our separate ways. We all got married. One is a parent. Two have gotten divorced. All have scars both visible and invisible. The dreams of youth are the regrets of maturity.

So what happens to that excitement we have as youth? Does it get buried beneath responsibility and bills? Do you ever experience that same excitement and hope about life? I still get flashes of it like when I see a good movie for the first time or see one that I like that I haven’t seen in years ( if you have Netflix check out 3 o’clock high), when I get a smile from a stranger, finding money in a pocket, hear a good song, find a good quote, get new clothes (I don’t really like trying them on though), seeing a good play, drink a cold Dr. Pepper from a can, see good live music, etc.

What gives you a lust for life?

2 Comments

  1. I can feel it now, we used to do the same, 3 of us on my friend’s mustang hood just sitting there contemplating the big life (we were not allowed to move much so we didn’t scratch the paint!). We did the same thing staring at the stars!

    I’ve been trying to keep the “dreams” and the “sense of newness and adventure” alive by committing to a list of 101 things in 1001 days. You can check it on my blog. It kinda keeps me having mini adventures when my tendency is to fall into the daily grind.

Leave a comment